Two week’s in

Hamlet

Like Hamlet, we might be kings of infinite space, were it not that we… get so easily distracted by stuff.

So it’s now been two weeks since I declared my intention.

In the intervening two weeks a lot has changed. And it’s snowed. A fair bit. So maybe I’m just a fair weather runner, but I can’t say my trainers have seen much action.

But I have been doing a fair bit of Muay Thai training (3-4 times a week). Opting to go for suppleness, flexibility and strength over speed.

What I’ve learned this week;

In intervening years since I first started martial arts training my mind, more than my body has become weak. As ever, it’s the focus and motivation that’s the biggest challenge. There’s a girl I train with these days who used to weigh 23 stone. She’s now fitter than me and a great inspiration. If she can do it, I can stick with it.

I can run for longer on a treadmill than I can outside, but it’s dull. And I struggle with dull. So maybe I am a fair weather trainer after all. Though I’ve also made a new play list and am looking forward to the next sunny day.

According to Chip and Dan Heath, when people run out of will-power, they’re not lazy. They’re exhausted. So I’m learning to listen to my body a bit more (well that was my excuse for a visit to the sauna), and not take on too much in on go. All with the aim of keeping on keeping on.

This entry was posted in change, motivation, muay thai, sport, women and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

